Box office:
0151 709 4776
Group sales:
0151 708 3733
Book online
Site search

Everyman pre 2014

The Everyman has undergone a radical transformation to create a brand new incarnation of this pioneering and much-loved theatre.

Of course the Everyman is no stranger to the radical, or to transformation. It was founded in 1964 in the appropriately named Hope Hall (once a chapel, then a cinema), in an area of Liverpool noted for its bohemian environment and political edge, and quickly built a reputation for ground-breaking work.

A succession of visionary directors, exciting writers, and bold acting companies have kept the theatrical flame alive here for decades, and the Everyman has been the crucible for an astonishing range of theatrical talent. Julie Walters, Bernard Hill, Jonathan Pryce, Pete Postlethwaite, Alison Steadman, Antony Sher, Bill Nighy, Alan Bleasdale, Willy Russell, Barbara Dickson, Matthew Kelly, Cathy Tyson, David Morrissey, Stephen Graham and the Liverpool Poets all considered the Everyman a formative home in their early years.

Alan Dossor Everyman Company 1975

Prior to its closure for re-development, the programme has ranged from classics such as Pete Postlethwaite’s King Lear, Jonathan Pryce in The Caretaker and David Morrissey’s Macbeth to world premières of plays by a fantastically talented new generation of Liverpool writers. These productions have played to capacity crowds at home and many have travelled outside the city.

The new Everyman is built on the very best of what’s gone before. Its reincarnation now makes it possible for us to create more opportunities, nurture new talent and ideas, and keep our eyes firmly on the future.

 Liverpool's Third Cathedral; 40 Years of the Liverpool Everyman Theatre
Liverpool's Third Cathedral; the Liverpool Everyman Theatre compiled by Ros Merkin was published by Liverpool University Press to celebrate the 40th birthday of the Everyman in 2004. It is available direct from us for the special price of £5 plus P&P. Please click here to purchase online.

  • Jonathan Pryce in The Caretaker by Harold Pinter
  • Matthew Kelly & Matthew Rixon in Endgame by Beckett
  • Pete Postlethwaite in King Lear by William Shakespeare
  • Joe McGann in Lost Monsters by Laurence Wilson
  • Neil Caple & David Lyons in Billy Wonderful by Nick Leather
  • 3 Sisters On Hope Street by Diane Samuels & Tracy-Ann Oberman
  • Ten Tiny Toes by Esther Wilson
  • Eric's by Mark Davies Markham
  • RTP  (c) Helen Warner - Will Beer, Tim Frances & Dean Ashton
  • Anthology Nicholas Shaw & Paul McCleary ©Sam Heath
  • 'Tis Pity She's A Whore_Eileen O'Brien and Ken Bradshaw © Sam Heath
  • Macbeth_David Morrissey as Macbeth and Julia Ford as Lady Macbeth © Helen Warner

Sign up for our newsletter

Sign up for newsletters

Everyman Archive

In 2004 the Everyman Archive was handed over to Liverpool John Moore's University as part of its Special Collections And Archives in the Aldham Robarts Learning Resource Centre (LRC). 

Web design by
Mando Group